Vancouver International Film Festival

Film: The Natural Phenomenon of Madness (Philippines, 2011, 135 minutes)
About: a broken relationship
VIFF website says it’s: sharp, visually arresting, it’s unlike any other Filipino indie
I think it’s: technically well done, but dragging

Film: The Sandman (Switzerland, 2011, 88 minutes)
About: a man who is leaking sand
VIFF website says it’s: part “Eternal Sunshine…”, part Kafka and wholly unique
I think it’s: very entertaining and creative

Film: Headshot (France, Thailand, 2011, 105 minutes)
About: a cop turned hitman turned monk
VIFF website says it’s: smart, original and very, very stylish
I think it’s: good, solid

Film: White (South Korea, 2011, 106 minutes)
About: a pop girl group recording a cursed song
VIFF website says it’s: a zappy horror thriller
I think it’s: scary enough, but it explained itself too much

Film: Box Man Hong Kong Lonely Heart (Canada, HK, Australia, 2011, 4 minutes)
About: a man in a box meets a woman in a bag
VIFF website says it’s: charming
I think it’s: pointless

Film: Advanced Cybernetics (USA, 2011, 4 minutes)
About: a sentient computer on an empty spacecraft
I think it’s: a purely visual experience

Film: Bike Race (USA, 2010, 13 minutes)
About: a bike race and a love triangle
I think it’s: good, entertaining

Film: Friday Night Tights (USA, 2010, 4 minutes)
About: a male dancer
I think it’s: fun

Film: Lose This Child (Israel, 2011, 4 minutes)
About: a newly hatched sea turtle
VIFF website says it’s: a music video
I think it’s: really good

Film: The Man with the Stolen Heart (UK, 2011, 8 minutes)
About: a man who lost his heart
VIFF website says it’s: a surreal oil-painted tale
I think it’s: not telling or showing me anything new

Film: Moving Day (Australia, 2010, 9 minutes)
About: a little girl who finds bad fairies
I think it’s: well done, with a cool story

Film: The Nest (UK, 2011, 12 minutes)
About: a daughter and her overbearing mother
VIFF website says it’s: an amazing oil painterly animated world
I think it’s: beautiful

Film: Out of Erasers (Denmark, Sweden, 2011, 15 minutes)
About: a strange new epidemic
I think it’s: good, creative

Film: Outside In (Austria, 2011, 6 minutes)
About: a suicidal ogre
VIFF website says it’s: actually an old man, not an ogre
I think it’s: interesting

Film: Brick Novax’s Diary (USA, 2010, 16 minutes)
About: an international supercool legend
VIFF website says it’s: about an amazing, crazy, multifaceted life
I think it’s: really funny

Film: Dreileben: Beats Being Dead (Germany, 2011, 88 minutes)
About: a nurse and a hotel maid
VIFF website says it’s: one film in a fascinating, sensational three-film project
I think it’s: a good love story, a film that could stand on its own

Film: Dreileben: Don’t Follow Me Around (Germany, 2011, 88 minutes)
About: friends finding out they dated the same guy
VIFF website says it’s: one film in a fascinating, sensational three-film project
I think it’s: not really value adding

Film: Dreileben: One Minute of Darkness (Germany, 2011, 90 minutes)
About: an escaped convict
VIFF website says it’s: one film in a fascinating, sensational three-film project
I think it’s: a good sad story

Leave a Reply

